Rashtrapati Bhawan Delhi

Tourist Attractions in Delhi

Rashtrapati Bhawan

Rashtrapati Bhawan

Rashtrapati Bhawan - Rashtrapati Bhawan of Delhi, President's House New Delhi India
Rashtrapati Bhawan was formerly known as 'Viceroy's House' and was occupied by the Governor-General of India, until independence. Also known as President's House, the building holds a prominent position in New Delhi. Designed by the British architect, Sir Edwin Lutyens, this classical building uses colors and details peculiar to Indian architecture. It was completed by 1929 and was officially inaugurated in 1931. It was in 1950 that President started living in this ceremonial building and the 'Viceroy's House' was renamed as 'Rashtrapati Bhavan.' It has 340 decorated rooms and a floor area of 200,000 square feet.

It presents a blend of Mughal and European architectural styles. While Rashtrapati Bhavan is the official residence of the President of India, Sansad Bhawan or the Parliament House is the center of political power in India Parliament House is one of the most magnificent buildings in New Delhi. Designed by Sir Edwin Lutyens and Sir Herbert Baker, it took six years to be constructed. It was inaugurated on 18th January, 1927 by the then Governor-General of India, Lord Irwin. The massive circular edifice has a circumference of about one-third of a mile and stretches across six acres.

The beautiful works that make the architecture of the Parliament House so special include the layout of fountains both inside and outside the building, statues, murals and marble 'jali' (mesh) that adorn its windows. It houses Lok Sabha (House of the People), Rajya Sabha (Council of States) and the erstwhile Library Hall (formerly the Princes Chamber). Along with this, there are well-planned garden courts, accommodation for Ministers and Chairmen, Parliamentary Committees, Party Offices, important offices of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha here. Secretariats and the offices of the Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs are also located here.